I Believe I Just Recieved A Bogus MS Alert

Giganews Newsgroups
Subject: I Believe I Just Recieved A Bogus MS Alert
Posted by:  dash bored59 (dashbored…@discussions.microsoft.com)
Date: Wed, 6 Jun 2007

I just now went to Hollywood.com within a few seconds-- before I was able to
click anything--the page left my screen and was replaced with an official
Windows style box (I can't remember what they're called) that stated the
following (I read it outloud into my tape recorder so I can dictate
accurately):  "Window Internet Explorer  Notice  Your computer has tracks of
all adult sites you have visited. In most cases you are not even aware of the
files that get installed by themselves, violate your online privacy and could
compromise your career and your marriage. These files leave tracks of your
online behavior and even compromise your credit cards security. It is
possible to clean out all of the temporary and history records of your
computer to remove these tracks.  Would you like to install Drive Cleaner to
check your computer for free? Recommended"
And it even has the "OK" and "Cancel" official style buttons like Int Exp
I am not worried about this personally.  But I felt obligated to tell about
it because it looks just like some kind of normal function dialogue box!